Earle Brown - A Life in Music Vol.4 | Wergo WER69372

Earle Brown - A Life in Music Vol.4


Usually available for despatch within 3-5 working days

Label: Wergo

Cat No: WER69372

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 3

Release Date: 9th January 2012



The 18 LPs of Earle Brown's legendary Contemporary Sound Series, now re-released by WERGO on CD (six 3-CD sets), have become a rarity in great demand. 'Earle Brown – A Life in Music Vol.4' is the most recent CD set in this unique series presented by WERGO.

CD 1 (New Music for String Quartet) contains three stylistically quite different string quartets performed by the ensembles Quatuor Parrenin, Hamann Quartet, Quartetto di Nuova Musica, and the New York String Quartet.
- Pierre Boulez: Livre pour Quatuor I, II, V
- Giacinto Scelsi: Quartetto d’archi n. 4
- Earle Brown: String Quartet

CD 2 (New Music for Chamber Orchestra) focuses on works for chamber orchestra by Iannis Xenakis, Aldo Clementi, Bo Nilsson, Wlodzimierz Kotonski and Yuji Takahashi. The first recording of Arnold Schoenberg's 'Drei Stücke' is also outstanding. The works were performed by the International Kranichsteiner Kammerensemble under the direction of Bruno Maderna, the Hamburger Kammersolisten under the direction of Francis Travis, as well as the exceptional violinist Paul Zukofsky.
- Iannis Xenakis: Achorripsis
- Aldo Clementi: Triplum
- Bo Nilsson: Szene III, Frequenzen
- Arnold Schönberg: Drei Stücke
- Wlodzimierz Kotonski: Canto
- Yuji Takahashi: Six Stoicheia

CD 3 (The Hamburger Kammersolisten) presents four works premiered by the Hamburger Kammersolisten
- Milko Kelemen: Études contrapuntiques
- Niccolò Castiglioni: Tropi
- Vittorio Fellegara: Serenata
- Isang Yun: Musik für sieben Instrumente

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here