Gary Burton: The New Quartet (Vinyl LP) | ECM 4505324

Gary Burton: The New Quartet (Vinyl LP)


Usually available for despatch within 3-5 working days

Label: ECM

Cat No: 4505324

Format: LP

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Jazz

Release Date: 23rd June 2023



Gary Burton (vibraphone)
Mick Goodrick (guitar)
Abraham Laboriel (bass)
Harry Blazer (drums)


Gary Burton (vibraphone)
Mick Goodrick (guitar)
Abraham Laboriel (bass)
Harry Blazer (drums)


*** Vinyl LP ***

Luminessence, ECM's new audiophile vinyl-reissue series, is a kaleidoscope, shedding light on the jewels of the label's deep catalogue in elegant, high-quality editions - audiophile vinyl pressing, high-grade tip-on gatefold sleeves that include new liner notes.

As well as being the great vibes innovator of the era, Gary Burton has been a most astute talent scout. In 1973, The New Quartet introduced Abraham Laboriel: this was the first recording of the bassist who would shortly become one of the most in-demand session players across all genres. "It must be emphasised that Laboriel sounds like a major artist in the making with his astonishing bass work," wrote Melody Maker.

Guitarist Mick Goodrick also emerged as a player to watch with this album, shining in a well-conceived programme with compositions of Keith Jarrett, Chick Corea, Carla Bley, Mike Gibbs and bandleader Burton.

1. Open Your Eyes, You Can Fly
2. Coral
3. Tying Up Loose Ends
4. Brownout /
5. Olhos de Gato
6. Mallet Man
7. Four or Less
8. Nonsequence

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here