Bizet - Complete Music for Solo Piano | Naxos 857083132

Bizet - Complete Music for Solo Piano


Usually available for despatch within 2-3 working days

Label: Naxos

Cat No: 857083132

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 2

Genre: Instrumental

Release Date: 31st January 2011



Georges Bizet’s popular L’Arlésienne Suites are seldom heard in the composer’s own piano transcriptions. Indeed, his delightful compositions and arrangements for this instrument remain to be discovered by many listeners. Bizet was himself an accomplished pianist, whose solo piano works range across many different genres and styles from the Chopinesque lyricism of the Nocturnes and Chansons sans paroles to the virtuosic Caprices and Chasse fantastique and the highly dramatic Variations chromatiques.

Julia Severus, who as a member of the Aurora Duo has released recordings of piano transcriptions of music by Tchaikovsky, Balakirev and Glazunov (8557717 and 8570418), here makes her solo recording début for the label.

CD 1
- Nocturne in F major
- Grande valse de concert in E flat major
- Trois Esquisses musicales
- Nocturne in D major
- Variations chromatiques de concert
- Valse in C major
- Quatre Préludes
- Caprice in C sharp minor
- Caprice in C major
- Thème brillant
- L’Arlésienne Suite No.1
CD 2
- Chants du Rhin
- Magasin des familles
- Venise
- Romance sans paroles
- Marine
- Chasse fantastique
- L’Arlésienne Suite No.2

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here